Cantabria Natural parks

There are seven natural areas in this autonomous community designated as Natural or national parks:

Picos de Europa National Park

Collados del Asón Natural Park

Santoña, Victoria and Joyel Marshes Natural Park

Macizo de Peña Cabarga Natural Park

Oyambre Natural Park

Saja-Besaya Natural Park

Dunes of Liencres Natural Park

The most important of these is the Picos de Europa National Park, which affects Castile and León and Asturias in addition to Cantabria, the three autonomous communities sharing its management. Santoña, Victoria and Joyel marshes are also Special Protection Areas for the birds (ZEPA).

Furthermore, nine Sites of Community Importance (LIC) have been declared: Western Mountain, Eastern Mountain, Western Rias and Oyambre Dunes, Dunes of Liencres and Estuary of the Pas, El Puntal Dunes and Estuary of the Miera, Ria de Ajo, Marshes of Noja-Santoña, Escudo de Cabuérniga Range and several caves with important bat colonies.

Skip to content