Basque Country Geography

The topography of the Basque Country is mainly mountainous. It is made up of the Basque Mountains and the Sierra de Cantabria in the south, with Larrasa (1,453 meters) as the maximum altitude. The highest point in the Community is Mount Aitxuri, with an altitude of 1,551 meters, and located in Aizkorri Natural Park.

The following provinces make up the autonomous community:

Álava (Basque Araba), capital Vitoria-Gasteiz

Biscay (Spanish Vizcaya, Basque Bizkaia), capital Bilbao-Bilbo

Gipuzkoa (Spanish Guipúzcoa), capital Donostia-San Sebastián

Basque Country Features

The Basque Country borders Cantabria and the Burgos province to the west, the Bay of Biscay to the north, France (Nouvelle-Aquitaine) and Navarre to the east and La Rioja (the Ebro River) to the south. The territory has three distinct areas, which are defined by the two parallel ranges of the Basque Mountains. The main...

Read more ...

Skip to content