Andalucia Provinces

Andalusia consists of eight provinces. The latter were established by Javier de Burgos in the 1833 territorial division of Spain. Each of the Andalusian provinces bears the same name as its capital:

ProvinceCapitalPopulationDensityMunicipalitiesLegal districts
AlmeríaAlmería702,81972.5/km2 (188/sq mi)102 municipalities8
CádizCádiz1,243,519158.8/km2 (411/sq mi)44 municipalities14
CórdobaCórdoba805,85772.4/km2 (188/sq mi)75 municipalities12
GranadaGranada924,55068.7/km2 (178/sq mi)170 municipalities9
HuelvaHuelva521,96847.7/km2 (124/sq mi)79 municipalities6
JaénJaén670,60049.1/km2 (127/sq mi)97 municipalities10
MálagaMálaga1,625,827204.1/km2 (529/sq mi)102 municipalities11
SevilleSeville1,928,962129.2/km2 (335/sq mi)105 municipalities15

Andalusia is traditionally divided into two historical subregions: Upper Andalusia or Eastern Andalusia (Andalucía Oriental), consisting of the provinces of Almería, Granada, Jaén, and Málaga, and Lower Andalusia or Western Andalusia  (Andalucía Occidental), consisting of the provinces of Cádiz, Córdoba, Huelva and Seville.

Skip to content